You Just Never Know – My true story about my lab Dixie

The Dog Next Door

You Just Never Know

Catherine Ulrich Brakefield

Mommy, can I have her?” Kimmy’s face beamed up at                   me as she hugged an ebony puppy with a white spot marking its chest and big, bearlike paws patting her hand playfully.

Flashbacks of my youth and the puppies I enjoyed cantered through my thoughts. I suddenly realized I was the same age as my daughter, just five years old, when I received my first puppy. That puppy had playfully introduced me to a life of caring.

“We’ll name her Dixie,” I said. Surely naming this puppy in tribute to my husband’s beloved South would work a miracle on him too. I needed one. We already had three cats, a bunny, and four horses.

The owner said the three puppies left were ten weeks old and free. And very close to losing their puppy appeal, I thought.

This is just the beginning. This story will warm your heart, cause your eyes to drip, So be prepared with Kleenex as you read the rest of Dixie’s love for her pups and our family.

Leave a Reply

